[WiiCollaborate LLC] Troy Wiipongwii (Updated)

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is an update as promised.

About Me:

I am Troy Wiipongwii. I have an eclectic academic and professional background. I have a bachelor's in mathematics, a masters in public policy and statistics and currently pursuing my PhD in Data Science and Technology. My expected dissertation defense date will be in August of 2022. My research will cover issues in data ownership, decentralized ownership and its impacts on trends in hospitality and tourism sector. This research is incredibly relevant due to its attempt to apply blockchain to the sector, while dealing with the complexity and heterogeneity of the hospitality and tourism industry. In short the space is a complex ecosystem that requires unique governance and management structures to support an evolving sector that employs 10% of the global economy.

I am currently the Director of the William & Mary Blockchain Lab, where I support and fund 6 research teams across 4 departments, conduct independent research, and support student researchers. In addition to research management, I am responsible for developing external partnerships, and I am responsible for applying for grants.

Academically, I have published 3 academic papers: 1. Ten Things You Should Know About Blockchain Today: A Guide for Court Managers, 2. Blockchain and International Development, 3. Blockchain and COVID-19 in Indian Country.

I have also worked on two fourth-coming papers, both which relate to Factom governance. The first is on the application of principal agent theory to factom governance, the second is on the role of data analytics to support decision-making in the factom ecosystem. I will share the second paper in a few weeks.

In addition to my academic work, I have worked on both conceptual and technical components of blockchain projects: 1.